ماذا يعني "جيني"؟

أنت هنا:
< عودة

ماذا يعني اسم "جيني"؟ يعتمد اسم "جيني" على مبدأ هام في مجال الاقتصاد يسمى "مؤشر جيني". إن مؤشر جيني هو أداة إحصائية معروفة لقياس تشتت أي كمية في أي مجال ، ولكن الأكثر شهرة يرتبط بقياس عدم المساواة في الثروة بين الشعوب والأمم. لدى كل مجموعة قيمة مؤشر جيني في مكان ما بين نقطتين متطرفتين: يعني مؤشر جيني صفر (أو 0٪) أن لكل فرد نفس المقدار من الثروة. في المقابل ، يعني مؤشر جيني 1 (أو 100٪) أن شخصًا واحدًا فقط لديه كل الثروة ، ولا يملك أي شخص آخر أي شيء. يرتبط مؤشر جيني لكل بلد ارتباطًا وثيقًا بالعديد من العواقب الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الهامة. على سبيل المثال ، لاحظت منظمة الشفافية الدولية:

تسلط نتائج هذا العام الضوء على العلاقة بين الفساد وعدم المساواة ، التي تغذي بعضها البعض لخلق حلقة مفرغة بين الفساد والتوزيع غير المتكافئ للسلطة في المجتمع ، والتوزيع غير المتساوي للثروة[1].[2]

المعنى الرياضي لجيني. يمثل معامل جيني (أو مؤشر جيني أو نسبة جيني) ملخصًا إحصائيًا لمنحنى لورينز ، الذي يقيس عدم المساواة بين السكان.[3] Mathematically, it’s often described as the "relative mean difference"; i.e., the average of the difference between every possible pair of values in a given distribution, divided by the average value. The mathematical Gini Index formula is below.

gini-index-math-formula-ginifoundation.org

تصور الحركة وجيني-مؤشر

المعنى الإنساني لجيني. عواقب ارتفاع مؤشر جيني هي عميقة. كلما كان مؤشر جيني بلدًا مرتفعاً ، تعاني الديمقراطية حتمًا. عندما تعاني الديمقراطية ، يميل مؤشر جيني إلى الزيادة حتى يؤدي الاضطهاد الاقتصادي إلى ثورات اجتماعية وسياسية عنيفة. هذا ليس عن ايديولوجية. انها عن الطبيعة البشرية الأساسية. عندما يتم قمع عدد كبير من البشر من قبل الشركات العملاقة والحكومات ، فإنهم سوف يقاومون بطبيعة الحال هذا الاضطهاد.

The Gini Index is Humanity's Early Warning System. يمثل مؤشر جيني نظامًا للإنذار المبكر لمساعدة صناع السياسة الاقتصادية على إجراء تعديلات لإطلاق الضغوط الاجتماعية والاقتصادية في بلدانهم قبل بدء الثورات العنيفة. هذا هو جوهر ما تعمل مؤسسة جيني على تحقيقه من خلال تزويد البشرية بالأدوات الضرورية لحماية حقوق الإنسان وتحقيق أقصى قدر من إمكانات توليد التجارة في العالم الحقيقي.


ملاحظات:

[1] الشفافية الدولية. (2017 ، 20 سبتمبر). الترابط بين الفساد وعدم المساواة.

[2] مؤشر مدركات الفساد 2016.

[3] ديكسون وآخرون. 1987؛ Damgaard و Weiner 2000.


Did You Like This Resource?


Gini is doing important work that no other organization is willing or able to do. Please support us by joining the Gini Newsletter below to be alerted about important Gini news and events and follow جيني على تويتر.

What Does “Gini” Mean?

You are here:
< Back

What Does the Name “Gini” Mean? The name “Gini” is based on an important principle in the field of Economics called the Gini Index. The Gini Index is a well-known statistical tool to measure the dispersion of any quantity in any domain, but it’s most famously associated with measuring the inequality of wealth among human populations and nations. Every population has a Gini Index value that is somewhere between two extremes: A Gini Index of zero (or 0%) means everyone has the same amount of wealth. In contrast, a Gini Index of 1 (or 100%) means only one person has all the wealth, and everybody else has none. Each country’s Gini Index is strongly correlated with many important economic and social consequences. For example, Transparency International observed:

This year’s results highlight the connection between corruption and inequality, which feed off each other to create a vicious circle between corruption, unequal distribution of power in society, and unequal distribution of wealth[1].[2]

The Mathematical Meaning of Gini. The Gini coefficient (or Gini Index or Gini ratio) is a statistical summary of the Lorenz Curve, which measures inequality in a population.[3] Mathematically, it’s often described as the "relative mean difference"; i.e., the average of the difference between every possible pair of values in a given distribution, divided by the average value. The mathematical Gini Index formula is below.

gini-index-math-formula-ginifoundation.org

Visualizing-the-Gini-Index

The Humanistic Meaning of Gini. The consequences of high Gini Indexes are profound. Whenever a country’s Gini Index is high, democracy inevitably suffers. When democracy suffers, the Gini Index tends to increase until economic oppression ignites violent social and political revolutions. This is not about ideology; it’s about basic human nature. When large human populations are oppressed by gigantic corporations and governments, they will naturally resist that oppression.

The Gini Index is Humanity's Early Warning System. The Gini Index represents an early-warning system to help economic policymakers make adjustments to release the socioeconomic pressures in their countries before violent revolutions start. This is the essence of what the Gini Foundation is working to accomplish by providing humanity with the tools that are essential to protect human rights and maximize the broad wealth-generating potential of real-world commerce.


Notes:

[1] Transparency International. (2017, September 20). Correlation between corruption and inequality.

[2] Corruption Perceptions Index 2016.

[3] Dixon et al. 1987; Damgaard and Weiner 2000.


Did You Like This Article?


Gini is doing very important work that no other organization is willing or able to do. Please support us by joining the Gini Newsletter below to be alerted about important Gini news and events and follow Gini on Twitter.